In the Beginning


 

Welcome to Keep Breathing. 

 I was a graduate of Palo Duro High School in Amarillo, Texas and West Texas State University in Canyon Texas.  I was a Special Education teacher for many years in the Amarillo Public Schools.  I am the mother of two wonderful caring, intelligent girls. One is a third grade teacher and the other is an assistant principal at one of the High Schools here.  I am the grandmother of two.  One of them is making me a great-grandmother very soon.  I am currently beginning a new career as author and illustrator of books.  My current project is a Bible Study called Breathing the Names of God.

I still remember the lists of words I had to memorize in grade school that involved with the form of the verb “to be.”  (am, is, are, was, were, be, being, been, has, have, had, do, does, did, shall, will, should, would, may, might, can, could.)  When we talk about who we are, we use those words.  We are many things.  We are in the act of being those things all the time.  We are mothers, fathers, teachers, mechanics, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, men, women, and the list goes on.  We usually don’t make an effort to be those things.  We just are.  We do many things.  We talk, play, sleep, and work but we are not doing them all the time.  

The same is true of God.  He has a name that indicates what He is.  He told Moses His name.  He wrote it on ten tablets of stone with His own finger.  His name is Yahweh.  His name means I AM THAT I AM.  He is. He Was.  He always will be.  He has other names that tell what He does.  He provides, He sanctifies, and He heals. He sees, and there is more, much more.

And that is the subject of this blog.  As I write this Bible study, I thought I would share the discoveries I make about Him with you.  You could take the study and help me refine it.  I hope to teach the study in person one day.

2 Comments

  1. Edith Davis said,

    March 18, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    A lot of study and work went into the teaching on this site. Thanks Donna.

    • dbarton70 said,

      March 23, 2011 at 8:07 am

      thank you, I would have said something sooner, but did not know how. Please help me by posting suggestions.


Leave a Reply

